The Small Formula for Pursuing a Big Life

Image

What do you want to be when you grow up?

 

Rock star.  The doctor that cures cancer.  An Olympic gold medalist.  NFL quarterback.  Movie Star.  Famous novelist.  President.

 

I wanted to be Miss America.  Imagine that.

 

What did you want to be?  What do your kids want to be when they grow up?

 

It’s a pretty big question.

 

We all had pretty big ideas when we were little.

 

But then, we grew up.  And most of us didn’t become what we thought we would.  Down deep we wish we would have.

 

I’m not sure many of us know what happened.  We grew up like the kids next door.  We did what everybody else basically did, but some achieved great things, others didn’t.  Some seem outrageously content, others not so much.  And the connection between “success” and satisfaction hasn’t proven to correspond.

 

So, what the heck?  Is there a secret?  Was there a fairy that came with dust and nobody told me we were supposed to put our hopes and dreams under the pillow so they turned into something big?  Is that why others went on to live big lives and we, well, seemed to have missed that train so far?

 

Me?  I just grew up.  And I am where I am.

 

My parents really didn’t guide me.  Maybe they thought the guidance counselor handled my path into the future.  The counselors were preoccupied with paddling the delinquents and figured the parents had it covered.  Neither did.

 

Two things happened since…

 

One.  I have been fascinated by the mystical factors that projected the chosen few to accomplish great things.  Maybe because I always felt that I had something big that was supposed to happen with my life, but since nobody was taking my hand to show me the way or pat my po-po, I have been determined to figure it out.  So, I’ve asked questions, studied, watched, listened to those who’ve accomplished significant things.

 

Two.  I had kids.  Three of them.  I thought it best to live vicariously through them.  Isn’t that what most parents do?!

 

Actually, I wanted to be intentional in guiding them into their future, to encourage them to pursue big goals and take every opportunity to do cool things.  I guess because I was a teacher, I wanted to engage my kids, guide them, be a bit more proactive in teaching them life lessons.  Build in character.  And watch them take off and fly.

 

I’ve got a lot to tell you.

 

I’ve learned a lot.

 

My kids are growing up.  All three are “successful”.  They’re pursuing big goals, living big lives, hanging with some fairly impressive people and having a ball.  We’re all in process of maximizing our potentials.  That includes me.

 

Along the way, I’ve discovered factors that make the difference.  They fit into a formula.  A formula that’s simple, clear and practical.

 

It’s the formula for the fairy dust that propels anyone to become all they’re meant to become.  It’s not mystical.  It’s not only for some.  It’s for those who will simply choose to live it.

 

It’s a practical formula for us to apply to ourselves.  It’s one that ought to be used to guide our children.

 

I’ll be spending my days sharing with you all I’ve learned through analyzing, studying, and applying things to my kids and other students who’ve thrived.  My intent is for you and your children to live big lives and become all you’re meant to become so you can share your best with the rest of us!

 

< P = Z ⋄ C5 ⋄ E

 

Sign up for email subscription if you’re intriqued.

 

Did you have anyone guide you step-by-step so that you’re more successful than you expected yourself to be?

 

Are you actively engaged with leading your children to become all they’re meant to become?

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

