Parenting a Champion: first things first

Image

“Do as I say, not as I do”.  Uhm.  Wrong.

“The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree” couldn’t be more true.  Our children, like it or not, truly are ducklings and imprint on us.  They’ll follow us in every sense and we’ll see a reflection of who we are when we watch them.  This could be really cool….or terribly frightening depending on what they see after breakfast coffee and before the final brush and flush of the day.  

If we want our children to be “successful”; to be champions, then we need to put the oxygen mask on ourselves first.   We’ve got to make sure we’re healthy and strong so we can take care of the ones right behind us.  If you’re like me, this might suddenly be overwheming with an, “oh #$#&@ I liked it better when the pressure was on my kid and not me”, kind of reaction.  “It’s easier for me to push them than it is for me to look in the mirror.   I have no flippin idea what I’M doing, so how in the world can I help my child become the next phenom?!  The next anything!”

So, before you immobilize, keep this is perspective:  the first step is simple.  Decide to put the oxygen mask on yourself first. 

It’s a process, so just put it on, and take your first breath; a nice long, deep, relaxing breath. 

You only have to be a step or two ahead to lead.

You only have to take one step at a time.

I’ll help you.  It’s not really that complicated. 

< P = Z⋅C5⋅E

Just apply each principle to yourself first, then turn and guide your kids to do the same.  

The worst thing that could happen is you discover your own life again, move forward to accomplish something great yourself, and lead your kids to do the same…

(Subscribe to the posts.  I’ll be sending out a quick series of 3 additional posts to help get the new year off to a great start!)

 
Related articles
One thought on “Parenting a Champion: first things first

Leave a Reply

